Fish and Shrimp Socca Tacos with Cilantro Pesto

I was craving fish tacos for dinner; had been dreaming about it for a few days now.  So you can imagine my disappointment when I only found one small haddock fillet in my freezer….eeeks!  Normally I would just make something else, but my cravings were so strong that my mind wouldn’t let me think of anything else.  It was time to get creative.
Cilantro Socca Collage
Luckily I also had some jumbo shrimps and home-made cilantro pesto in my freezer.  Out they came with the fish fillet and voila, I had me some Fish and Shrimp Socca Tacos with Cilantro Pesto. This dish takes all of 15 minutes to make, provided that you have the pesto made in advance. Otherwise, tack on another 5 minutes.  And since I am avoiding gluten, I opted for this socca flatbread as my soft taco wrap making this recipe gluten, dairy, and sugar free.

I hope you enjoy them as much as I did!
fish & shrimp taco 2

Fish and Shrimp Socca Tacos with Cilantro Pesto

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients
1 small haddock fillet (or any other white fish)
9 jumbo shrimps (shells removed and deveined)
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 small, thin slices of fresh ginger, minced
1 tsp grapeseed oil

For the pesto:
2 cups fresh cilantro, loosely packed
1 cup raw pumpkin seeds
4-6 cloves garlic, smashed
½ teaspoon fine sea salt
½ cup extra virgin olive oil

For the Socca (recipe from thekitn.com):
1 cup chickpea flour
1 cup water
1.5 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
½ teaspoon fine sea salt

Directions
1. In a small mixing bowl, whisk together chickpea flour, water, oil, and salt. Set aside and let rest for ½ – 2 hours.
2. In a food processor, combine cilantro, pumpkin seeds, garlic, and salt.  Pulse a few times until all ingredients are finely chopped.  Add the olive oil and process until desired consistency.  Set aside 1/4 – 1/3 cup for the tacos.  Store the rest in the fridge or freezer.
3. Film a small skillet with oil (I used grapeseed oil) and set over medium-low heat.  Pour a thin layer of the socca batter into the skillet until the bottom is covered (pour in less batter for smaller wraps).  Cook 2-3 minutes, flip and cook another 2-3 minutes.  Repeat this step until batter is used up.
4. While the wraps are cooking, heat some oil in a medium skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic and ginger.  Sautee for about 30 seconds.
5. Add the fish and shrimps.  Cook for 3-4 minutes.  Flip, and cook another 3-4 minutes.
6. Assemble tacos: spread cilantro pesto on a wrap, add shrimp and fish filling, fold wrap over and enjoy!

You will have socca wraps left over, so you can double the filling ingredients and now the recipe serves two.  Or you can reduce the socca ingredients by half to get just the amount of wraps you need.  I put my extra wraps in the fridge and enjoyed them the next day as bread with stew or chili to soak up the yummy sauce.

Leave a Reply

